NOC (National Occupational Codes) Guide

What is NOC?

NOC stands for National Occupational Classification. It is a system, which let us see the detail classification of all the jobs (occupations) in the Canadian labour market.

NOC Explained

For immigration purposes, the main job listing is divided into 5 groups (levels):

  • Skill Type 0 (zero): management jobs.
  • Skill Level A: Occupations usually require a university education.
  • Skill Level B: Occupations usually require college or vocational education or apprenticeship training.
  • Skill Level C: Occupations usually require secondary school and/or occupation-specific training.
  • Skill Level D: On-the-job training is usually provided for occupations.

NOC code is a four-digit number, where the first digit normally designates the Skill Type:

  1. Management Occupations
  2. Business, Finance, and Administration Occupations
  3. Natural and Applied Sciences and Related Occupations
  4. Health Occupations
  5. Occupations in Social Science, Education, Government Service, and Religion
  6. Occupations in Art, Culture, Recreation and Sport
  7. Sales and Service Occupations
  8. Trades, Transport and Equipment Operators and Related Occupations
  9. Occupations Unique to Primary Industry
  10. Occupations Unique to Processing, Manufacturing, and Utilities

The second digit is the Skill Level corresponds to the type and/or amount of training or education typically required to work in an occupation. The 3 and 4 numbers usually cover the detailed designation of the certain occupation – corresponding between industries and levels of responsibility.

Why do recruiters need to know your NOC?

This section of the article is only available for our subscribers. Please click here to subscribe to a subscription plan to view this part of the article.

© 2022 JobMatch Canada